Sponsored by NITTO Tires
Follow USTCC on Facebook
Follow USTCC on Twitter

Dave Brown Finishes the Season With a Win at Infineon Raceway and Takes the 2005 Hankook US Touring Car Championship Title as Well

The Hankook United States Touring Car Championship (USTCC) teams visited the beautiful Infineon Raceway on October 8-9, 2005 for their final round of the championship. Dave Brown won the race and the championship in one shot and became the 2005 Driverís Champion. Brown also helped Acura score their second consecutive Manufacturer Title.

The weekend started off with Brown as the fastest car in most sessions in the Premier Choice/Spoon Sports Acura RSX-R. Brian Lock in the LIC Motorsports/DMS NA Subaru WRX was the only other man that had a chance at the title. Lock was second fastest in most sessions but the team was improving and every session they found time and were closing the gap. In the first qualifying session, the gap between Brown and Lock was a whopping 3 seconds. By the second qualifying session the gap had closed down to 0.10 seconds. Clearly Lock was getting faster. RJ Reeves who was driving the Acutech Acura Integra-R did a great job and managed to score his best qualifying effort with a third place start.

At the start of the race, Lockís Subaru bolted to the lead with Brown following. Reeves managed to stay in third while behind the Statsis Engineering Audi A4 of John Angelone took fourth place. This was going to be an interesting race with three AWD cars in the field: Subaru WRX, Audi A4 and Mitsubishi Evo. The Mitsubishi Evo was driven by David Bongiovanni who was starting in his first USTCC race and hopes to return for a full season next year.

Brown eventually took over the lead and managed to hold on to it at the finish. Lock was not far behind. In fact, this could have been the closest victory in USTCC history with the official margin of .077 seconds. Reeves scored his first podium of the year with a clean third place finish.

Brown now has the title of 2005 Champ and hopes to return in 2006 to defend his title. Lock finished second in the Driver Championship but did manage to win the AíPex Integration Rookie of the Year title. Ali Arsham managed to finish third in the Driver Championship with a steady finish in every race.