Sponsored by NITTO Tires
Follow USTCC on Facebook
Follow USTCC on Twitter

Andrie Hartanto Scores First Win and Becomes Fifth Different Winner in Five Races

Andrie Hartanto driving the RedZone Performance/CT Engineering Acura TSX scored his first win at the Nitto Tires United States Touring Car Championship (USTCC) race at Thunderhill Raceway on August 24, 2008. Hartanto became the fifth different winner in as many races this season. Driving a superb race was Andy Chittum who briefly led the race but eventually finished second with his best finish ever in USTCCin the BTM/ Le Mans Karting BMW 328ti. Finishing third was last year's Champion Curt Simmons who finished on the podium despite a stop and go penalty for a faulty start. This year's Championship points leader is the team of Tom Lepper and Rod Rojas who finished fourth which was good enough to hold onto the points lead.

Jerry Bradbury, driving the Mini Mania Mini Cooper S, received the Dupli Color Top Rookie award and received a host of products from Dupli Color. Bradbury fought off a race long charge from others and managed to finish as the highest placing rookie of the race in fifth place.

Tom Lepper earned the Molecule Keep It Clean Move of the Race award for his many clean passes on his way to the fourth place win.

Andrie Hartanto won the Go Pro award for winning the race and earned a Go Pro Hero wearable digital sports camera.

Michael Mc Colligan was the top scorer in the Konig Cup standings and increased his points total with his sixth place finish in the Mazdatrix/ Racing Beat Mazda RX8.