Sponsored by NITTO Tires
Follow USTCC on Facebook
Follow USTCC on Twitter

Start the key factor of the race at Thunderhill

Photos By Ryan Cristobal

Willows, CA -- The team of Tom Lepper and Andrie Hartanto's RedZone Performance Acura TSX made it two wins in a row at the Nitto Tires United States Touring Car Championship races at Thunderhill Raceway in Willows, CA on May 31, 2009. The key point was of the race was the start when Hartanto got to Turn 1 first by beating the polesitting team of Dave Brown and Pete Bovenberg in the MBO Motorsports Honda Civic. Andy Chittum in the BTM Motorworks/LeMans Karting BMW 328ti also had a fantastic start and went from fourth to second by Turn 1. By Turn 2 the order was Hartanto, Chittum and Bovenberg and the order remained the same when the checkered flag fell. Hartanto admitted after the race that Chittum was a formidable challenger. "If I hadn't gotten the jump on Chittum at the start, I don't think I could have passed Chittum," commented Hartanto.

Ken Kurtz scored the win for the prototype GT class in his Pontiac Firebird.

Vincent Parker was the top Dupli Color Rookie of the Race in the Mini Mania/Bay Bridge Motors Mini Cooper S.

The team of Paul Ko and Tommy Lo won the Permatex award for their action packed race.

Curt Simmons in the Cornwell Tools/Stevens Creek Dodge SRT4 won the AEM award winning a wide band air/fuel gauge for starting in 11th position and finishing in fourth place.

The team of Matt Yeung and Tony Mak won the Go Pro award with their improved performance from qualifying to the race, winning a Go Pro Hero camera.