Sponsored by NITTO Tires
Follow USTCC on Facebook
Follow USTCC on Twitter

Pete Bovenberg wins a close race at Buttonwillow

Buttonwillow, CA. October 11, 2009 Pete Bovenberg won his first race since 2007 driving the MBO Racing / Red Zone Performance Honda Civic at the Nitto Tires United States Touring Car Championship at Buttonwillow Raceway in Buttonwillow, CA. Bovenberg started from pole position but lost the lead to Andy Chittum, who was driving the BTM Motorworks BMW 328ti, at the start. Chittum who lost the pole position by a record 0.001 seconds held the early lead. Bovenberg did not give up and on lap 4 made the pass on Chittum and started to build on that setting the fast lap of the race in the process. At the end, Bovenberg won by 2.9 seconds over Chittum. Behind them there was a fierce battle for the remaining spot on the podium between the Stevens Creek Dodge SRT-4 of Curt Simmons and the Cobalt California Chevrolet Cobalt of Tom Lepper. The two were bumper to bumper for every lap of the race and at times it seemed like they could both crash out. But despite the super aggressive driving, the pair did not collide and Simmons edged out Lepper by 0.6 seconds at the finish line. The Lepper/Hartanto still have a comfortable lead in the driver championship going into the final race of the season in two weeks time.

The team of Matt Yeung and Tony Mak won the Dupli Color Top Rookie of the race honors which means that the rookie of the year crown will be decided at the last race as well.

Pete Bovenberg won the Go Pro Hero award and won a Motorsports HERO camera for his outstanding drive to victory circle.

Curt Simmons won the Stack the Competition award for his hard fought battle for third place, winning Stack professional gauges in the process.

Tom Lepper won the AEM award, winning an AEM wideband air fuel gauge for his terrific battle of the race.

Andy Chittum won the Team DI Impressive Drive award winning a Team DI pair of Nomex driving gloves. Michael McColligan won the second Team DI Impressive Drive award and won a Team DI helmet bag for his efforts.