Follow USTCC on Facebook
Follow USTCC on Twitter

Buttonwillow Season Opener Full of Non Stop Action

In a race that started with the pole sitter’s time being disallowed for non-working GPS data, the action was nonstop for two hours. It seemed like many cars had issues and more than a few suffered flat tires and some ran out of fuel. At the end, Jason Alexandridis ended up finishing the line first in the TNI Racing BMW M3 but he was disqualified for being underweight after the race. The win then went to Beau Borders in the Comp Clutch/Hawk BMW M3. Second was the team of Patrick Chio and Andrie Hartanto. Third place went to Karl Chicca in the second Comp Clutch/Hawk BMW M3.

In the GT class, Mike Holland/Steve Lisa finished first in the Mendeola Powertrains Factory Five GTM just seconds over VJ Mirzayan and his Achilles Motorsports BMW M3. Due to a timing and scoring issue during the race, Mirzayan was granted 10 additional points after the race. Daniel Akhromstev finished third in the Red Star Racing BMW M3.

Special Awards

Wine Country Motorsports
Michele Abbate won the Wine Country Motor Sports gift certificate by finishing in seventh place in her Scion FR-S.
Whiteline Performance Suspension
Whiteline Performance makes some terrific suspension components and Daniel Akhromstev earned a $300 gift certificate for Whiteline Suspension products to improve his chances at the next race.
Swift Spring
Gary Hutto returned to the series after 13 years and was quick in an underpowered car. He won a set of Swift Springs of his choice that they can use for the next race to go faster.
Stack Gauges
Tom Milburn drove a very steady and smooth race. While others were having technical problems and flat tires, Milburn was putting in laps and ended up finishing sixth. For that he won a new Stack Clubman tach to help his chances at the next race.
Specialty Products Company
Mike Holland and Steve Lisa had a great race and a great set up on the car and managed to win the race. They now have a Fastrax camber and caster gauge to help them set up the chassis on their car and go even quicker.
Sampson Racing
Sampson Radio Communications award went to Dave Brown who dominated the GT class race in the early stages until mechanical gremlins stopped him. He won a $100 gift certificate that the team can use for team communications equipment.
Rostra Precision
Rostra Precision provided a high resolution back up camera to Michael McColligan who came into the series after an 8 year break. McColligan finished eighth but he knows that the rust will wear off quickly.
Rescue Tape
Rescue Tape is a revolutionary silicone repair tape that can save your race by fixing small leaks. Everyone needs to have one in their toolbox and the award this time went to Pete Bovenberg.
Race Ramps
The Race Ramps award is certainly one of the most popular awards that the drivers shoot for. Dale Sievwright ended up finishing fourth after returning to the series after an 8 year hiatus. He won a $300 certificate towards the purchase of a set of Race Ramps.
Powerbuilt Tools
The Powerbuilt Tools award went to Jason Alexandridis who started in the back and had a great race. Alexandridis now has a new Powerbuilt professional torque wrench to use at the next race.
Patrick Chio did not look like a rookie as he and his 2009 USTCC Champion co-driver Andrie Hartanto put their Nissan 350Z on the podium. Chio won a Plastex plastic repair master kit and was the Plastex Top Rookie of the race.
The Perma-Cool award was won by VJ Mirzayan who drove an extremely consistent race drove a great race and finished in second place. Mirzayan won a $200 gift certificate for his actions.
Mothers Clean Car
The Mothers Clean Car award went to the Life’s Good Racing team Mitsubishi Lancer driven by Mauricio Lastres which is sporting a brand new paint job that has truly transformed the car. They earned a complete car cleaning kit full of Mothers products to keep the new paint job looking new.
Ironclad Performance Crew
Team Life’s Good Racing showed up with an army of people to service four races in the race and all cars were very competitive and two ended up on the podium. They won the Ironclad Performance Crew award along with a box full of Ironclad’s gloves for the team.
Many drivers wished they had more powerful lights in this race and now Gary Sheehan has some Hella OptiLux HID driving lights to use next year. Sheehan started last, crawled his way up to second place but eventually finished in fifth place.
Disc Brake Australia
DBA brake rotors are legendary with their kangaroo paw vents. Winning the DBA award was rookie Patrick Chio who was super quick all weekend long and received a set of the DBA high performance rotors for a great job.
CSF Radiators Cool Move of the Race
The coolest move of the race was by Beau Borders who kind of snuck up on everyone in winning the race. Borders kept quiet and just drove a great race and stayed out of trouble. Sounds like a great move to us which is why he won a new CSF racing radiator of his choice for his efforts.
CRC products are the official chemicals of USTCC and Karl Chicca received a huge assortment pack of CRC products by winning the CRC Award for a fantastic drive that landed him on the podium.
Autometer provided their new professional tire gauge to Michele Abbate who can use it to accurately set up their car at the next race for a great job in her first night race. Abbate ended up finishing seventh.
Sam Stowell was a new driver in GT who looked strong in the race but an early punt by a lapped car resulted in bent suspension which eventually resulted in the team pulling the car out of the race. Stowell won an Airaid air intake system of his choice for the hard work.
The AFE Power award was provided to the top three cars in Touring and GT. In the Touring class, the top three were Beau Borders in first place, Patrick Chio and Andrie Hartanto in second place and Karl Chicca in third place. In the GT class, the top three were Mike Holland and Steve Lisa in the FFR GTM, VJ Mirzayan in a BMW M3 and Daniel Akhromstev in another BMW M3. The drivers won cash awards from AFE Power for being the best in their field, just like AFE Power.
Advanced Clutch Technology
Advanced Clutch Technology (ACT) makes some of the best clutches in the business and the ACT award went to Ron Valtierra who overcame technical issues in his Mazdaspeed 3.
Optima Battery Ultimate Power Source
The top three in Touring Car were Beau Borders in first place, Patrick Chio and Andrie Hartanto in second place and Karl Chicca in third place. In the GT class, Mike Holland, VJ Mirzayan and Daniel Akhromstev were the top finishers. Each driver won a free Optima Battery for his efforts.
Go Pro
The winner in each class wins a new GoPro action camera. The lucky winners today were Beau Borders, the winner of the Touring class, and Mike Holland/Steve Lisa, the winners of the GT class.